The world most largest biography website !

More than THREE MILLION biographies And hundreds of new biographies are added daily

Follow Us
Robert E. Vardeman photograph

Robert E. Vardeman

Use attributes for filter !
Gender Male
Age 75
Date of birth January 6,1947
Zodiac sign Capricorn
Job Engineer
Official site
Born Mineral Wells
United States

God of War
The Klingon Gambit
Mutiny on the Enterprise
The Glass Warrior
World of Mazes
The Demon Crown Trilogy
The Sandcats of Rhyl
The Sorcerer's Skull
The Sundered Realm
Iron Tongue
To Demons Bound
Fire and Fog
The Fallen Ones
Phantoms on the Wind
Dark Legacy
The Keys to Paradise
Swords of Raemllyn
The City in the Glacier
In the Shadow of Omizantrim
Blood Fountain
Demon of the Dark Ones
Pillar of Night
The Accursed
The Destiny Stone
The Jade Demons Quartet
The ruins of power
A Yoke of Magic
The Beasts of the Mist
The Quaking Lands
For Crown and Kingdom
A Symphony of Storms
Space Vectors
The Resonance of Blood
Cenotaph Road
Death Channels
The Stellar Death Plan
Hell Heart
The Infinity Plague
The War of Powers
Alien Death Fleet
The Genetic Menace
Road to the Stars
Alien Web
Fate of the Kinunir
Crisis at Starlight
The Screaming Knife
A Plague in Paradise
The Crystal Clouds
Gateway to Rust and Ruin: Empires of Steam and Rust
Blue Kingdoms: Buxom Buccaneers
Key of Ice and Steel
God of War
God of War
God of War II
The Sundered Realm
Cenotaph Road
Date of Reg.
Date of Upd.
Send edit request

Robert E. Vardeman Life story

Robert Edward Vardeman is an American science fiction fan and writer.

Robert Edward Vardeman (sometimes called Vardebob) (born 1947) is an American science fiction fan and writer.


Robert E. Vardeman was born in Mineral Wells, Texas, but is a longtime resident of Albuquerque, New Mexico. He graduated from the University of New Mexico with a B.S. in physics and a M.S. in materials science. He worked for Sandia National Laboratories in the Solid State Physics Research Department before becoming a full-time writer. He got his start in writing by writing for science fiction fanzines, and was nominated for the 1972 Hugo Award for Best Fan Writer. Vardeman is one of the founders of Bubonicon, a science fiction convention in Albuquerque, New Mexico.


The first volume in Vardeman's Keys to Paradise fantasy series was credited to the pseudonym "Daniel Moran", the publisher possibly being unaware of author Daniel Keys Moran, but the second book in that series then stated that Vardeman was "writing as Daniel Moran." Vardeman started publishing two other series under pseudonyms in the late 1980s – the fantasy series After the Spell Wars under the name F.J. Hale, and the Star Frontier science fiction series under the name of Edward S. Hudson. Both of these series were partially republished under Vardeman's own name. He also wrote Gateway to Doom (1983) from Tom Swift III, and The Microbots (1992) and Mutant Beach (1992), part of the Tom Swift IV series of books under the house pen name, Victor Appleton; as well as writing numerous westerns under the pen names Karl Lassiter and Jackson Lowry. He also wrote in the mid-1970s for Book Creations, Inc., under house pseudonym Paul Kenyon for The Baroness series, but the book was canceled before publication. Similar work includes eight novels written for the Nick Carter adventure series, the novel Sea Fire under the name Cliff Garnett, more than 100 novels written for a major western series, plus eight novels written for another western series that was less enduring.


He is the author of more than fifty fantasy and science fiction novels. An anthology of his short fiction, Stories From Desert Bob's Reptile Ranch, was published in 2007.

Star Trek

He wrote the original story novels Mutiny on the Enterprise focusing on Captain Kirk battling his own crew, and The Klingon Gambit, another official Star Trek novel.

Science fiction and fantasy

Vardeman's fantasy series include The War of Powers (six volumes co-authored with Victor Milán), Cenotaph Road (six volumes of science fantasy), Swords of Raemllyn (nine volumes co-authored with Geo. W. Proctor), The Jade Demons (four books), The Keys to Paradise trilogy, The Demon Crown trilogy, and a British-published trilogy called The Accursed. Vardeman also wrote the novelizations of the fantasy game series, God of War and Ruins of Power, a MechWarrior: Dark Age story.

Vardeman's science fiction works include the Weapons of Chaos, Masters of Space and Biowarriors trilogies, and the stand-alone novels The Sandcats of Rhyl, Road to the Stars, and Ancient Heavens. The 1991 techno-thriller Death Fall is a related novel, although works set in a contemporary setting are often not categorized as science fiction.


Vardeman also wrote a series of three mystery novels involving the "psychic detective" Peter Thorne: The Screaming Knife, The Resonance of Blood and Death Channels.

Game tie-ins

Vardeman has written a number of game-related tie in works, including:

Dark Legacy (1996) – for the Magic: The Gathering game

The Great Helium War (1998) – for the Crimson Skies game

Hell Heart (2000) – for the Vor: The Maelstrom game

Ruins of Power (2003) – for the Mechwarrior: Dark Age branch of the Battletech game

God of War (2010) – novelization of the game of the same name with Matthew Stover

God of War II (2013) – novelization of the sequel


External links

Official website

Robert E. Vardeman at the Internet Speculative Fiction Database

Robert E. Vardeman at The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction

News about Robert E. Vardeman


© 2015